Saturday, November 27, 2010

Death Of A Disco Dancer - Sleazy RIP

Peter "Sleazy" Christopherson, founding member of pioneering UK industrial outfit Throbbing Gristle (pictured above, Christopherson on the right) died on Wednesday 24 November, aged 55. Gristle members Chris & Cosey announced the news on their website. After TG broke up in 1981, Christopherson formed another wildly influential band, the psych experimental electropunk band Psychic TV as well as creating more industrial music as Coil. Christopherson later embarked on a career as a music video director, making clips for Marc Almond, Front 242, Ministry, Nine Inch Nails, Rage Against The Machine and Jah Wobble as well as making the Hearts Of Darkness-style-crazed-on-location-in-Sth-America 'Infected' clip for The The. He also made clips for Australian artists Silverchair ('Pure Massacre') and Abba tribute band Bjorn Again ('A Liitle Respect') - TG members were always vocal fans of Abba. As a photographer/designer (working as a part of art collective Hipgnosis), Christopherson designed the covers for the first three Peter Gabriel self-titled albums (known as Car, Scratch and Melt) as well as also being credited for involvement in the artwork of Pink Floyd's Wish You Were Here and Animals - he also created the lesser known, but possibly his best, artwork for Dave Ball's In Strict Tempo. In recent years, Christopherson took part in a TG reformation as well as starting Soisong and recording as The Threshold HouseBoy's Choir.

Throbbing Gristle - 'Hot On The Heels Of Love' (1979)

Coil - 'Windowpane' (1991, clip directed by Christopherson)

Psychic TV - 'Godstar' (1988)

Front 242 - 'Rhythm Of Time' (a clip Christopherson made for the Belgian nu beaters in 1992)

No comments: